Camping with EarthTeam, a student perspective

IMG_7043

I went camping with my fellow EarthTeam interns from other schools from the bay area. It was my first time camping so I was already excited weeks before.

I met new faces I had to introduce myself to them. As a group, we played some games as icebreakers. During the hike, I was thinking of how I am so ignorant about plants and my surroundings. I wished that I knew more about nature so that I could better understand it and so that I won’t hesitate much about touching plants and flowers. I wondered how the hike would have been if I knew at least about the common plants.

IMG_7062

I enjoyed the hike, regardless. The excitement got me jumping left and right on the uneven ground although I know that I could have just walked normally, so I had to tie my shoelaces again and again. I was thinking that I was a ninja in training.

I realized that I have two dream places to live in the future: near the cliff by the sea, or in the woods by a lake.

When we finally got to our camping site, we set up our tents and I got along with the other schools’ interns all right. There was a circle of people by the spot where the fire will be made and I joined them to chop a wood to get some slivers for kindling. We took our turns chopping. That was fun. I’d do that again if I have to.

The campfire was lit when the sun had gone away. We played games by the campfire and had a sing-off. We ate s’mores. I borrowed a flashlight from my fellow intern, Allana, and shined the flashlight at my feet. There were insects, and I don’t have a clue about what they were except for a ladybug that conceals itself as a small pebble when gently touched. I wondered what male ladybugs are called. Probably a ladybug. There were also insects that had long bodies.They crawled really quick and they were so fascinating to watch. I decided to leave them alone after watching them for a while.

I slept earlier than most people, but I woke up once in a while. In the middle of the night, it rained, and then it rained harder. My shoes were outside, soaking wet, but I did not bother to take them inside. It was really cold and I was freezing. After some more short naps and blinks, the rain subsided and I decided to start my day.

IMG_7106

I looked at the tall trees outside and noted how they sway. The branches swayed in all directions but the trees swayed in one. The eucalyptus trees that pointed to the sky looked familiar. The winds sounded so familiar. I can’t really tell why so I just looked at the trees and appreciated the beauty of the morning.

The bus ride home was the most tiring part of the trip. Only then did I realize that my body was sore and that I had to go back to reality.

Leave a Reply

